Gomba District was created in 2010 by Act of Parliament, when Mpigi District was split into three: (a) Gomba District, (b) Butambala District and (c) Mpigi District. The town of Kanoni was selected to be the district headquarters. The district became operational on 1 July 2010. Generally, Gomba District is a rural district which receives lower precipitation than the districts of Butambala and Mpigi. Livestock farming is a major economic activity in the district supplemented with subsistence agriculture.[3]